Ilford Delta 400 (+1 stop), shot with Nikon FM and Helios-44M-4 58mm f2

It’s been 3 weeks since my last post. I needed to focus on my studies for a little bit – had 3 assignments to hand in last week! – and also to take a step back and reassess things, photography-wise. I guess I felt like hiding from the world a little too, as I even made my Twitter, Flickr and WordPress accounts private (my flickr is still private, more on that later).

After my assignments were out of the way and I could relax once more, I suddenly had the grand idea to visit Kew Gardens yet again, but this time taking only my Nikon FM, paired with my Helios-44M-4 58mm f2 lens. There had been a half-completed roll of Delta 400 in my FM for a good month, and I decided now was the weekend to finish it off. I wanted to see how my Helios lens performed with b&w film too, as the only time I’d shot it on my FM was with a roll of Lomochrome Purple last summer (I think). I shot the Delta at EI 800, with the intention of getting it pushed 1 stop in development.

Well the Sunday I decided to go to Kew was not the best day, we had that annoying pesky little rain that was never really a true downpour, but never really stopped either. However the sky was fairly bright, yet overcast, which is the lighting I prefer for flower photography! I wouldn’t have been able to go to Kew the previous day, Saturday, in any case, because I was busy with family stuff. So I braved the rain and headed on out.

I’m so glad I did. A few of my faves:

Yes, I took a lot of photos of Camellias. Kew was full of them and not much else, but they’re also some of my favourite flowers. Big, bold and beautiful, I am currently a little bit obsessed with them.

More importantly, I’m in love with how this roll came out. About half was shot with my Nikon 50mm f1.8 Series E lens and yellow filter around Nunhead Cemetery, the rest was with my Helios-44M-4 58mm lens and occasionally an orange filter. Either way, can’t wait to get my hands on some more Delta 400! I also shot a roll of Pan 400, and I might share a few of those images in another post, or you can follow me on Instagram if you want to see them in the next week or so.

I am also looking forward to using the Helios on my FM some more. Because the 58mm focal length on Micro Four Thirds is equivalent to 116mm on full frame because of the small sensor size, when I use the Helios on my GX7, the field of view is quite narrow; I often struggle to fit in everything that I want. With the FM, I can include a bit more, and I am actually starting to prefer the 58mm focal length over my usual 50mm plus it has a shorter minimum focus distance which I am also enjoying and it benefits from having a max aperture of f2 compared to my 55mm Micro-Nikkor’s f3.5.

Ok, that’s enough gear talk!

In an unrelated note, I have decided to move away from Flickr; my account is now private. I don’t really feel like using it anymore; it’s yet another place that I feel I must keep up-to-date. The main reason I was keeping it was for this blog, but I don’t even think I’ll be be blogging that often from now on; once a week is too much for me at the moment haha. Over time I may replace all the broken links that are now all over this blog with uploads to WordPress, or… abandon it altogether.

As always, thanks for reading and I hope you enjoyed my images. You can find me on Instagram and Twitter, if you’re interested in cat photos and political rantings!

8 thoughts on “Reloaded!

  1. Very timeless photographs Mel, lovely. I must get to Wakehurst soon (also owned by Kew and about 20 mins up the road from me!)

    Re Flickr, I set my entire photo stream of 5000 photos to private last year, so I could start over with what I made public, but I can still display the private ones in WordPress posts without any broken links. Not sure if this is what you meant or you have direct links to pages in Flickr that are now private. Anyway, having a photo set to private doesn’t mean you can’t use the actually url it’s hosted at on Flickr to display/embed elsewhere, even if the photo’s main page is private on Flickr. Hope that makes sense!

    Like

    1. Thanks Dan! I’ve been meaning to go to Wakehurst for years, maybe one day I’ll make it down there. It’s a little further out of my way…. Hope you manage to get down there soon!

      I thought the same, but if you view my older posts on my blog, there are a lot of missing images now. I used the Flickr embed feature, and when you make a photo private, it seems to hide the photos. Hasn’t done it with some of my most recent ones though, even though they were added to my blog using the same process.

      Also, as I don’t plan to renew my Pro subscription later this year (although, never say never!), Flickr is going to automatically delete some of my photos when I go back to having a Free account, and that will definitely leave blank spaces!

      Like

      1. I wonder if it’s the embed thing then? I go to the image’s actual URL on Flickr and use that (Add > Media > Add Via URL) and I know this works even for images I make private. I think it’s because the main photo page becomes private but those destination URLs have to still remain. Go to a photo that’s private, click on the where you show all sizes, display one of them then right click and copy the url. Then paste this in a post in WP and see if it displays ok.

        How many images do you have on Flickr currently?

        Like

        1. To be honest, can’t be bothered to faff about trying to embed flickr images because I probably won’t be using it going forward. I have about 1800 photos on there.

          Like

            1. I still have 60%+ of my wordpress media storage left so I will just use that for now when i blog because don’t plan to do it very often anymore anyway. Once it’s used up, I will find another solution.

              Like

Leave a comment